Bright Internet Global Summit 2018 @ San Francisco

Date: December 12-13, 2018

Venue: Marriot Marquis Hotel, San Francisco, California, USA

The Bright Internet Global Summit (BIGS) is a global forum of exchanging the vision and research outcomes on various issues of the Bright Internet. It is also a channel to derive agreements among stakeholders and member countries for mutual benefits which cannot be realized by a single country alone. BIGS 2018 at San Francisco is the continuation of BIGS 2017 in Seoul and BICS 2018 in Beijing.

BIGS 2018 will be held on December 12th (Day 1) and 13th (Day 2) as a pre-ICIS 2018 Workshop in the Marriot Marquis Hotel in San Francisco.

For Industry and Policy Participants

Day 1 meeting will be dedicated to practical industry experts and policy makers, and open to non-AIS members. This workshop will be a good opportunity to learn the trend and issues of the Bright Internet Initiative and the approaches for preventive cybersecurity paradigm and business development. It will be also a good opportunity to meet the key players of Bright Internet and participate in the Q&A, discussions, and networking.

For Academic Participants

Day 2 is dedicated to academic research presentations and discussions and open only to AIS members. Day 2 will be held as a track of the Workshop of Information Security and Privacy (WISP) of AIS SIG-SEC (Security and Privacy). AIS members can register for both days at a discounted fee. But the Bright Internet track will be recognized in the as well.

Organizing Committee

  • Conference Chairs

Richard Dasher (Stanford University)
Anat Zeelim-Hovav (Immediate Past President of AIS SIGSEC)
Jae Kyu Lee (Southern University of Science and Technology)

  • Program Chairs

Jane Fedorowicz (Bentley University, Past President of AIS)
Christopher Paolini (San Diego State University)
Dan J. Kim (University of North Texas)

  • Organizing Chairs

Briana Burrows (Stanford University)
Bongsik Shin (San Diego State University)
Daegon Cho (KAIST)

  • Program and Organizing Committee

Gene Moo Lee (University of British Columbia)
Victoria Yoon (Virginia Commonwealth University)
Zhangxi Lin (Texas Tech University)
Jun Bi (Tsinghua University)
Gyoo Gun Lim (Hanyang University)
Jaehyeon Ju (McGill University)
Jiyong Park (KAIST)

  • Advisors

David Farber (Carnegie Mellon University and Keio University)
Wei Huang (Xi’an Jiaotong University; Chair of Bright Internet China Symposium 2017)
Helmut Krcmar (Technical University of Munich; BIGS 2019 Co-Chair)
Ritu Agarwal (University of Maryland; BIGS 2019 Co-Chair)
Joey George (Iowa State University; BIGS 2020 Co-Chair)
Raghav Rao (University of Texas, Saint Antonio; BIGS 2020 Co-chair)