Bright Internet Global Summit 2019 @ Munich

Post-Workshop of International Conference on Information Systems (ICIS) 2019

Date: December 18, 2019

Venue: Novotel Hotel Muenchen Messe

The Bright Internet Global Summit (BIGS) will be held at the Internationales Congress Center München (ICM) in Munich on December 18, 2019. The meetings for BIGS 2019 in the morning are dedicated to practical industry experts and policy makers and open to non-AIS members. These sessions will provide an interactive forum by bringing together leading academics, practitioners, and policy makers to discuss the critical issues of today’s Internet and possible means and business models to realize the next generation of a trusted and safe Internet, including the Bright Internet Initiative and other approaches for preventive cybersecurity paradigm and business development.

As a post-ICIS workshop, the academic track for BIGS 2019 will be held from 1:00pm to 7:00pm and is dedicated to academic research paper presentations and discussion and open to AIS members. The afternoon sessions will be presented in cooperation with the AIS Special Interest Group on Information Security and Privacy (SIGSEC). Please refer Call for Papers for more information.

Preventive Cybersecurity and Privacy: Bright Internet meets GDPR


Presentation of Bright Internet 1.0 Project in action

Demonstrate the project of academic and industry partnership

Presentation of key topics of Bright Internet research

Global collaboration for the Bright Internet Project

Open discussion with project team and potential researchers

Organizing Committee

  • Workshop Chairs

Victoria Yoon (Virginia Commonwealth University)
Jae Kyu Lee (Xi’an Jiaotong University & KAIST)
Robert Crossler (Washington State University)
Jean-Henry Morin (University of Geneva)

  • Program Chairs

Alvin Leung (City University of Hong Kong)
Sungjune Park (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
Dan J. Kim (University of North Texas)

  • Organizing Chairs

Jiyong Park (Web Management; University of North Carolina at Greensboro)
Verena Wolf (Local Organization, Paderborn University)
Stephanie Myao Me (Administration, Xi’an Jiaotong University)

  • Advisors

Helmut Krcmar (Technical University of Munich)
Ritu Agarwal (University of Maryland)
Raghav Rao (University of Texas, Saint Antonio)
Joey George (University of Iowa)
Xing Li (Tsinghua University)
Alessandro Acquisti (Carnegie Mellon University)
Wei Huang (Xi’an Jiaotong University)

  • Program Committee

Bongsik Shin (San Diego State University)
Christopher Paolini (San Diego State University)
Daegon Cho (KAIST, Korea)
Dapeng Liu (University of New South Wales, Australia)
David Murungi (Bentley University)
Dongman Lee (KAIST Department of Computer Science)
Gene Moo Lee (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Jaehyeon Ju (McGill University)
James Parrish (University of North Texas)
Jingguo Wang (University of Texas at Arlington)
Manoj Thomas (Virginia Commonwealth University)
Mehrdad Koohikamali (California State Polytechnic University, Pomona)
Mohammad Salehan (California State Polytechnic University)
Mohammadreza Mousavizadeh (Western Michigan University)
Obiageli Ogbanufe (Oklahoma State University)
Raghu Santanam (Arizona State University)
Richard Dasher (Stanford University)
Rui Chen (Iowa State University
Shin-Yuan Hung (National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan)
Ugochukwu Etudo (University of Connecticut)
Vijayan Sugumaran (Oakland University)
Wei He (Texas Tech University)
Young Hoon Chang (Beijing Institute of Technology)
Yun-Sik Choi (AITRICS)
Zhangxi Lin (Texas Tech Univ & Hefei University of Technology)

  • Bright Internet Project Consortium

Xing Li (Tsinghua University CERNET)
Ying Liu (Tsinghua University CERNET)
Lin He (Tsinghua University CERNET)
Shan Liu (Xi’an Jiaotong University)
Qian Buyue (Xi’an Jiaotong University)
Xiaosheng Tan (Beijing Genius CyberTech)
Cong Zhang (Qi’anxin)
Nanhao Zhu (Coremail)
Jonathan Sun (China Financial Certification Authority)
Yunfeng Zang (Shanghai Yovole Networks)
Jiwen Li (Shanghai Yovole Networks)
Gyoo Gun Lim (Hanyang University, Korea)
Daegon Cho (KAIST, Seoul)
Kihwan Bong (Korea Internet and Security Agency)
Jongpyo Kim (Korea Internet and Security Agency)
Jung Tae Kim (ETRI, Korea)
Chaemee Kim (Korea Trade Network)

Organizing Institutions

Organized by

In Collaboration with